Migrant Workers Conference 2021

What does a migration system shaped by workers look like? 

We know Australia’s visa system is broken. Australia’s migration program keeps workers in limbo, stuck in an endless cycle of temporary visas with prohibitive conditions that make us vulnerable to exploitation.  

The Migrant Workers Conference 2021 will present the findings from our two major research projects this year: the Pathway to Permanency visa reform survey and the $9 a Day report on piece rate payments and exploitation in the horticulture industry.  

At our two night conference, we’ll examine how we can overhaul Australia’s visa system to prioritise workers and map out our campaign for migration reform. 

Scroll down to RSVP

What: Migrant Workers Conference 2021 - Reshaping Australia’s Migration System for Workers 
When: 6-7:30pm Monday 29 and Tuesday 30 November 
Where: Online via ZOOM 

Day One will focus on the temporary visa experience, barriers to permanent residency, and what changes we need to protect migrant workers from exploitation. 

Day Two will look at Australia’s migration policy with consideration to the newly announced Agriculture Visa, the findings of our $9 a Day report, and the union movement’s role in migration reform alongside migration reforming messaging research presented by Daney Faddoul from the Human Rights Law Centre.

There will also be Q&A panels moderated by Dr Joo-Cheong Tham from the School of Law at the University of Melbourne and Shankar Kasynathan from Amnesty International Australia.

Both sessions will be Auslan interpreted.

Click here to find out more about the program and speakers


November 29, 2021 at 6:00pm - November 30, 2021


Online via Zoom


Migrant Workers Centre ·


Joshua Subramaniam Ahsan Navida Vivian Lu jill Biddington Suzi Taylor Helen Fox Pefi Kingi Scott Cosgriff Kelvin Gichia Bela Kusumah Nadil A Bec Walker Chiranjeev Singh Julie Grint Andonis Piperoglou Romel Lalata Charlene Tan Abdul Nouri Matthew Ng Sophia Hong Laisa Vukuqaqa Nishadh Rego Kathy Sdrinis Peter Davidson Simone Casey Nik Muhammad Aidil Mat Lazim Alice Garner Phil Farrell Evon Glasgow Imogen Rose Nicole Mugford Marlon De Leon Iain Campbell Natasya Salim Greg Cabanos Tom McAtee Muhammad Fuad Hishamuddin Francika Roberts Paramjit Kaur Apsara Sabaratnam Muhamad Abduh Fonz Elizondo Foncerrada Jemma Stefanou Malena Maffía Sofie Lemaire Union of Australian Women Newcastle Forbes Eve Barboza Janine Bliss

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?